Hillside Elementary at Fort Lewis


Video 148 0 00 00-26The school visit schedule is off to a great start after last Friday’s visit to Hillside Elementary. Many thanks to librarian Wayne Osborn, PTA president April London, and the students and staff for making it such a fun day. And extra props to April for those amazing cookies, and for making the event possible!

This was my second visit to Hillside, which is the only school I’ve ever visited on a military base. I didn’t get to interact much with the parents, but I found the interactions I did have to be fascinating. I don’t get the opportunity to talk with military personel or their families very often, and doing so has deepened my respect for the sacrifices these entire communities make for what they believe in.

I would also like to give a special thank you to Kayla from Mr. B’s 4th grade class. The picture included with this post is a card that she made for me. I could tell she put a ton of time in to making it. On the front of the card there is an awesome drawing of the cover of Enemy Pie. And on the inside she even included a watermelon sucker! My kids have been jockeying for that thing, but it’s such a sweet addition to her card that I’m not willing to take it off.

Thank you again Hillside Elementary!

4 Comments

Filed under creative kids, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Hillside Elementary at Fort Lewis

  1. Thank you so much for posting my daughter Kayla’s card on your blog. It just made her day seeing it up there. Such a sweet and wonderful thing for you to do!

  2. derekmunson

    absolutely! thanks for raising such a cool kid.

Leave a comment