Vancouver- What a Riot!


I went up to Vancouver last night to watch the Canucks win the Stanley Cup in game 7. Didn’t happen. I didn’t have a ticket, but they had a giant screen set up outside where over 100,000 fans showed up. I had considered bringing Zach along for this once in a lifetime experience. I’m so glad I didn’t. I didn’t get to see the hometown win, but I did get to see them riot. Police cars were overturned, cars were set on fire, windshields were smashed… you know, the usual.

The last riot I attended was in Seattle during the WTO meetings (was that in 1994?). But this one was way freakier. You’d be walking down a street and groups of thugs would run out into the streets and just start punching people. And then another group would come out and attack them. It was like a bar brawl, street festival style.

A police officer recommended that I leave the city quickly, but many of the sky train stations had been shut down.  So I went to a mexican restaurant and ate very spicy chipotle shrimp tacos that needed to be washed down with constant beer.  I watched the mayhem from the safety of my barstool, and philosophized about it with a guy in his early 20’s who was studying psychology and anthropology at a local college. For whatever reason the bartender generously gave me free drinks.

My little flip camera was not the camera for this event. I didn’t have super zoom, and I didn’t feel like getting right up there in the mix just to get some good shots. Here’s another guy’s vancouver riot photos that are really good.

All in all, I’d give the entire experience a C-. And I would say that it was totally worth it, even though I wanted to be part of a massive celebration and I ended up attending a riot. That’s a chance I would take over and over again. Opportunities to celebrate on this scale don’t come around here very often.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

