Superbowl Someday


1979-nba-champion-sonics

Even shorts grow if you give them 35 years

The last time Seattle won a major sports national title, I was 9 years old. My dad had an apartment in Seattle, down by Greenlake, a tiny one bedroom place. I don’t really remember much of the game,  or any of it, except for the very last second, when Gus Williams bent his knees like a funky ballerina and threw the ball straight up in the air. Woop woop! Gonna take it to the hoop! (That was a sonics commercial back in the day.) Sonics are world champions!

So the game ended, and my dad turned off the tv and put a Doobie Brothers album on the record player while he got his shoes on. Then we walked down to Greenlake. Horns were honking like crazy. People were yelling out their windows. “NBA champs!” “Supersonics!” A guy passed us and told us the Sonics won, just in case we didn’t know what was happening. It was awesome. So cool to see everybody happy like that! To this day, I still love the Doobie Brothers, and it has everything to do with that day.

That was 1979! Who would have guessed that we’d still be waiting for another? Nonetheless, here we are, 35 years later. BUT… this time, I’m the dad, and I have my very own 9 year old boy. Just a coincidence? I hope not! In any case, I’ve got my itunes ready to blast out some vintage 35 year old Doobie Brothers.

GOOOOO SEAHAWKS!!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

