The Best Book I’ve Never Read


Dandelion Wine is my all time favorite book. How good is it? So good that I’ve never even been able to finish it. It’s been 19 years I think since I first picked it up. I’ve never made it past page 50. My current copy is more tattered and loved than pretty much any other book on my shelf.

Ray Bradbury = magic. And Dandelion Wine is profound. He had a blast writing this book and it shows. I love his rhythm- not just with his prose, but with the way he summons the senses and makes me hear the bees and feel the sunshine, and how he can even make my mouth pucker at the taste of imaginary almost-ripe blackberries. When I read it, I want to be a writer too. Immediately. So I put down the book and pick up a pen. I do this year after year and I still halfway believe that someday I will actually finish the book. Honestly though, that could ruin everything. This book is an eternal childhood summer and I don’t want it to end.

 

(Ray Bradbury’s Dandelion Wine is now being made into a movie. I probably won’t see it, but man is it tempting…)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Best Book I’ve Never Read

  1. Ha! I have so many books that I try to savor, wanting to hold them dear and never let the story end. But alas, I don’t have your strength of character. When I should be slowly studying their craft, instead I race through their prose, devouring and binging on sentences as fine as lace cookies.

    • derekmunson

      hey Kim-
      i always admired people who could race through the pages! i’ve always been afraid i’ll miss something.
      and i have just now finally realized that you are a writer too! with an AWESOME BLOG!

  2. Scott

    Dude, I read that book every 5 years or so. I’m sure I have a copy sitting in that disaray I call a book shelf. With the coming of the kids I’ve had to read it to remind myself of the majic of childhood. When ever I walk barefoot through lush green grass I think of that book. Get my drift? I love that book along with his “Something wicked this way comes.” Looking forward to reading your book. By the way, check out “Enders game” Blew my mind how an adult can nail the way a kid thinks. Kind of a “Lord of the flies” meets adventure story in a low key sci fi setting.

    • derekmunson

      awesome stuff Scott. thanks for the recommendations. I will definitely check out enders game. sounds perfect for right about now. also- you gotta write your own stories sometime. i dig the way you think and write.

Leave a Reply

