Meet Mr. Slug


mr. slug takes a nap (i think)

When Zachy came into the house asking for a tupperware container and holding his hand out in front of him, I knew the Munson family was about to expand. I was hoping he had caught a lady bug. No such luck. It was a slug. Mr. Slug.

I was totally fine with the idea. A little grossed out that it was suctioned to his wrist, but I could handle a short term guest.  What I could not handle was the idea of Mr. Slug in our Tupperware. No way. Tupperware is for lunch boxes. Not for slugs. If I gave him one, I would think of that slug every time I used any of those containers.

I cut up a half gallon carton of soymilk and Zach gave Mr. Slug something resembling his original habitat. The dirt was great because it soaked up some of the milk that he would have been swimming in. The leaves were a nice touch, because when Mr. Slug went under them I wouldn’t have to look at him.

When Zach was finished playing with him, he came into the kitchen and found the Oreos and starting putting his sluggy little hands in the package. Siiick. There goes the whole row. We should have taken those Oreo’s right then and there, and put them in the carton so that Mr. Slug could have cookies and milk. But instead I put them in a container and sent them to school in Zach’s lunch box. Just kidding. After sending Zach to wash his hands, I totally spaced and ate the Oreos. I really don’t want to think about this ever again.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Meet Mr. Slug

  1. Come on how…the French eat snails…the sluggy cousin…how bad can it be?!

    • derekmunson

      have you eaten snails? and does anyone eat slugs? snails seem like they would be chewy. slugs seem like they would have the texture of mushy steak fat.

Leave a Reply

