adventures of a rookie traveler: Salzburg Austria


Salzburg Austria

Train rides are a perfect time for writing in a journal. The route is smooth, and the sound of the train is both hypnotic and astonishingly quiet. It was easy to get into a good writing groove, which was perfect because I had lots to say before I got to Vienna.

Salzburg Austria is completely magic. Centuries of brilliance and beauty make everything here glow: the landscape and the buildings and definitely the local people. Mozart must have felt this energy. I bet Julie Andrews tapped into it too. Actually, I bet everybody who comes here does. It would be very difficult to leave this place uninspired. I loved the way the golden shop lights reflected off the rainy streets, and the way the smells from bakeries and restaurants would float down the narrow cobblestone streets. You could point your camera anywhere and you’d end up with art. The place felt deeply alive.

As a rookie traveler, I quickly discovered that sightseeing and history are not my top priorities. I struggle through guided tours and I rarely make it out to the main attractions. What I really like is to immerse myself in the local culture, meet the people, catch the vibe of the place and eventually try it on myself. For a while I felt bad about my priorities, like I was dissing my ancestors or something. But Salzburg validated my travel philosophy. It showed me how the history of a place is carried not just in the works of its past masters or the events of a distant past, but in the current descendants of the city itself.

More on those people next time- I’ll attempt t0 recreate my evening at the Stadtkrug Hotel (a difficult task made more difficult by the cultural tradition of very large beer mugs.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

